WASHINGTON, DC — D.C. Department of Health on Tuesday updated its list of states deemed to be at high risk for transmitting the new coronavirus. People traveling from these 29 states to D.C. will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days when they arrive.

A state is categorized as high risk if the seven-day moving average of new cases of COVID-19, the illness associated with the new coronavirus, is 10 or more per 100,000 persons. D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser signed an executive order mandating that people traveling to and from high-risks states self-quarantine. Both Maryland and Virginia are excepted from the order.

The last time the list was updated was on Aug. 24, and the new list should be used until Monday, Sept. 21.

Two states were removed from the previous list — Alaska and Arizona — and two other states have been added, Montana and Ohio.

Here are the 29 high-risk states that require 14 days of self-quarantine:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

D.C. Department of Health confirmed 47 additional positive cases of COVID-19, the virus associated with the new coronavirus, on Tuesday. That’s more than the than the 36 new cases reported on Monday. This brings the District’s total number of positive cases to 14,362.

D.C. Health reported no new deaths due to COVID-19 on Tuesday. The total number of deaths in the District due to COVID-19 stands at 611.

According to D.C. Health, 316,598 coronavirus tests have been administered in the District, 190,316 residents have been tested, and 11,414 have been cleared from isolation.

The District currently has 66 intensive care unit beds available out of 345 total intensive care unit beds. There are currently 17 i5 in-use ventilators out of a total of 440 available ventilators. Also, there are 21 COVID-19-positive ICU patients.

District residents should take the following actions to help prevent the spread of COVID-19:

  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
  • Wash hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. An alcohol-based hand sanitizer can be used if soap and water are not available.
  • Avoid touching eyes, nose and mouth with unwashed hands.
  • Cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue, then throw the tissue in the trash.
  • Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces.


DC Updates List Of States Requiring 14-day Self-Quarantine

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.