The whole range is now vegan-friendly (Picture: Nestle)

Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are classic sweets that have been around for 140 years – but until now, vegans have been missing out.

The mix of blackcurrant, lemon, strawberry, lime and orange chewy sweets were previously made with gelatine, which is an animal product.

But now the recipe is changing and the whole range is going plant-based.

Fruit Pastilles, made at Nestlé’s factory in Fawdon, near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, are enjoyed by 15 million people every year and have quite a history.

Invented by brothers Henry and Joseph Rowntree, working with French confectioner August Claude Gaget, at their cocoa works in York in 1881, it’s a huge change for the brand.

From next month, you will be able to get sharing bags of the vegan version and single tubes and multipacks will all be vegan by February 2021.

Nestlé technicians trialled over 30 recipes to remove the gelatine while ensuring the sweets retained the fruity flavour and chew they are famous for.

Meg Miller, Brand Manager for Rowntree’s said: ‘We’ve had many requests from consumers over the years asking if we can make Fruit Pastilles vegetarian or vegan

‘We want the brand to be enjoyed by as many consumers as possible and so we are delighted to be able to introduce our new vegan-friendly recipe across the full range of sweets.’

Rowntree’s admits that the change has made the sweets softer but said that they believed that’s what customers prefer now.

Meg continued: ‘Through this recipe change, we’ve made the sweets slightly softer, which we know has been a market trend for a number of years.

‘However, our priority was to preserve the fabulously fruity chew that has made Fruit Pastilles a classic for almost a century and a half.

‘The product development specialists at our factory in Fawdon have spent a huge amount of time and care perfecting the new formulation.

‘We hope all Fruit Pastilles fans will agree that we have succeeded in developing a recipe which is as deliciously chewy as it has ever been, whilst at the same time being suitable for those following vegetarian, vegan and religious diets.’

Do you have a story to share?

Get in touch at metrolifestyleteam@metro.co.uk.

MORE: Lindt is set to launch its first vegan chocolate range, made using oat milk

MORE: Domino’s rolls out vegan pizza and garlic & herb dip nationwide

MORE: You can now get vegan pepperoni pizza at Morrisons for just £2.50

Rowntree’s changes Fruit Pastilles recipe as whole range goes vegan

Post navigation


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: